WhatsApp just added a STEALTH mode – and new 'secret' group chat hack | The Sun

BILLIONAIRE Mark Zuckerberg has revealed three new changes coming to your WhatsApp.

The tech tycoon – who owns WhatsApp, Facebook and Instagram – announced the shock update aimed at boosting your "protection" online.

One of the best features includes the ability to leave groups silently.

This means you'll be able to dip out of a group chat without alerting everyone.

"New privacy features coming to WhatsApp," Zuckerberg explained.

"Exit group chats without notifying everyone; control who can see when you're online; and prevent screenshots on view-once messages.

Read more on WhatsApp

Warning for MILLIONS of WhatsApp users – huge app change incoming

Three amazing features WhatsApp MUST add soon in war against iMessage

"We'll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations."

There are three new app updates in total.

The first is the ability to leave groups silently.

When you leave a group, the usual alert won't appear – although group admins will still be alerted.

Most read in Tech

NET-FIX

You're a Netflix GENIUS if you know trick to fix one of app's biggest irritants

CASH-OUT

Crypto tycoon vows to give away $20bn fortune – and now drives a Toyota Corolla

APPLE BITES

Apple warning: Activate NEW iPhone feature or it could cost you

IPHONE INCOMING

iPhone 14 release date 'coming EARLY' this year – when to buy new model

This feature is rolling out to all users globally this month.

The second is a WhatsApp "stealth mode" that lets you choose who can see that you're online.

"Seeing when friends or family are online helps us feel connected to one another," said WhatsApp.

"But we’ve all had times when we wanted to check our WhatsApp privately.

"For the times you want to keep your online presence private, we’re introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online."

This feature is also rolling out starting this month.

And the third is screenshot blocking for view-once messages.

That means WhatsApp will stop people from taking screengrabs of self-destructing texts – in a bid to boost privacy.

It's not watertight however: someone could use a second device to take a photograph of your message.

But it's a good step in the right direction when it comes to protecting your privacy.

"No other global messaging service at this scale provides this level of security for their users’ messages, media, voice messages, video calls, and chat backups," said Ami Vora, WhatsApp's Head of Product.

"Over the years, we’ve added interlocking layers of protection to help keep their conversations secure.

Read More on The Sun

Drivers warned over petrol prices at supermarkets including Tesco and Asda

Woman captures ‘sad’ tourists sprinting to reserve hotel sun loungers at 9am

"And the new features is one way we continue to deliver on our commitment to keep messages private.

"We believe WhatsApp is the most secure place to have a private conversation."

Best Phone and Gadget tips and hacks

Looking for tips and hacks for your phone? Want to find those secret features within social media apps? We have you covered…

  • How to delete your Instagram account
  • What does pending mean on Snapchat?
  • How to check if you've been blocked on WhatsApp
  • How to drop a pin on Google Maps
  • How can I change my Facebook password?
  • How to go live on TikTok
  • How to clear the cache on an iPhone
  • What is NFT art?
  • What is OnlyFans?
  • What does Meta mean?

Get all the latest WhatsApp, Instagram, Facebook and other tech gadget stories here.

We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for The Sun Online Tech & Science team? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk

    Source: Read Full Article